Texas Law Will Require Sonograms Prior To Abortions
May 23, 2011 by Special To Personal Liberty
Pregnant women in Texas who want to get an abortion must first get a sonogram, according to a new law signed by Republican Governor Rick Perry.
According to Reuters, most women will have to wait 24 hours after the ultrasound before they can have the abortion. Individuals who live more than 100 miles from an abortion provider will have a two-hour window between the sonogram and the procedure.
The measure states that women will have the option of hearing the baby's heartbeat and seeing the sonogram image, the media outlet reported. Moreover, the patient's doctor is required to describe the image, detailing the size of the embryo or fetus.
"Governor Perry was pleased to sign this important legislation, which bolsters our efforts to protect life by ensuring Texans are fully informed when considering such an important decision," said Katherine Cesinger, a spokeswoman for Perry.
Under the law, women who became pregnant as a result of rape or incest can decline to hear the description of the sonogram.
Meanwhile, lawmakers in Minnesota have approved two bills that are designed to limit abortions. According to the Minnesota Star Tribune, the State Senate recently voted to eliminate government funding of abortions and to prohibit all abortions that take place more than 20 weeks after conception.
The legislation now advances to the desk of Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton.