Comments Subscribe to Personal Liberty News Feed Subscribe to Personal Liberty
 

Supreme Court Will Not Bypass Lower Courts To Review Obamacare

April 26, 2011 by  

Supreme Court will not bypass lower courts to review ObamacareThe Supreme Court has denied a request to expedite the judicial process and review a Federal court decision that ruled President Barack Obama's healthcare law unConstitutional.

It was the second time that the nation's highest court has rejected a request by opponents of Obamacare to bypass the appeals courts. FOX News reports that the issue will likely go in front of the Supreme Court by this time next year. In the meantime, the matter will go to the 4th Circuit Court of Appeals in Richmond, Virginia.

In December, Virginia Judge Henry E. Hudson ruled that individual mandate of the Affordable Care Act, which requires most Americans to purchase healthcare insurance or face fines, is unConstitutional. The Obama administration has since appealed the ruling.

Virginia Attorney General Ken Cuccinelli, who asked the Supreme Court to intervene before the 4th Circuit, said that he was disappointed by the latest news. He believes that the "crippling and costly" effects of Obamacare warrant an expedited process.

"This case's logical end point is the Supreme Court," Cuccinelli said in a statement, quoted by the media outlet. "It will simply have to make its way through the 4th Circuit first."

In February, Judge C. Roger Vinson of Florida ruled that the entire healthcare law is unConstitutional. Vinson's decision has been challenged by Obama and will be sent to the 11th Circuit Court in Atlanta. 

Special To Personal Liberty

You Sound Off! is written by our readers and appears the last Wednesday of each month. If you would like to submit an article or letter to the editor for consideration for You Sound Off!, send it to yousoundoff@personalliberty.com by the Friday before the last Wednesday of the month. To be considered, a submission should be 750 words or less and must include the writer's name, address and a telephone number. Only the writer's name will be published. Anonymous submissions will not be considered.

Facebook Conversations

Join the Discussion:
View Comments to “Supreme Court Will Not Bypass Lower Courts To Review Obamacare”

Comment Policy: We encourage an open discussion with a wide range of viewpoints, even extreme ones, but we will not tolerate racism, profanity or slanderous comments toward the author(s) or comment participants. Make your case passionately, but civilly. Please don't stoop to name calling. We use filters for spam protection. If your comment does not appear, it is likely because it violates the above policy or contains links or language typical of spam. We reserve the right to remove comments at our discretion.

Is there news related to personal liberty happening in your area? Contact us at newstips@personalliberty.com

  • Michael J.

    So the Supremes intend to stack Obamacare in the same ole dusty drawer with Obama eligibility? Hmmm… each and every day that pesky left-right paradigm scenario sounds more and more plausible.

    All of Washington is beginning to wreak with the stench of putred flesh as our former Republic decays, call it “Essence of Bilderberg”

    • homeboy

      turn out the lights the party’s over.

      • Smilee

        Michael J. says:
        April 26, 2011 at 5:38 am

        Now that Obama released his long form of his birth certificate will that issue go away in your mind or will you find another way to keep this BS going

        • http://naver samurai

          There are some inconsistancies for it to be a real certificate. FOR GOD AND COUNTRY!

  • Mick

    Michael .

    That was to be expected considering the type of justices that have been infiltrating our supreme court within the past near two decades.

    God help the constituion of the United States.

    Stephen Breyer ::: Supreme Court of the United States, August 3, 1994 (nominated by President Clinton);

    Ruth Bader Ginsburg ::: Nominated by President Carter to United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit; took oath of office June 30, 1980. Nominated by President Clinton as Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States; took oath of office August 10, 1993.

    Elena Kagan, ::: President Obama nominated her to serve as the 45th Solicitor General of the United States and she was confirmed on March 19, 2009. President Obama nominated her as an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court on May 10, 2010, and she assumed this role on August 7, 2010.

    Sonia Sotomayor, ::: President Barack Obama nominated her as an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court on May 26, 2009, and she assumed this role on August 8, 2009.

    • Michael J.

      Mick,
      My point is that I think we are past the tipping point now. Confidence is at an all time low with regards to our form of government. The era of one man one vote has been replaced by lobbyist with deep pockets, unelected czars and executive orders. Politicians have no soul lest it be monetarily incentivized. Two years investing confidence in The Tea Party has so far yielded only a leader best described as the grim weeper.

      Diplomacy has it’s limits and we’ve reached ours. Time to dust off the 2nd amendment.

      Here’s just one example of what our government is becoming:
      http://newworldorderreport.com/News/tabid/266/ID/6162/4th-Amendment-is-now-Domestic-Terrorism-TSA-Administrative-Directive-Opt-Outters-are-Domestic-Extremists.aspx

      • Mick

        Michael J.

        Diplomacy certainly has it’s limits and those limits should have been reached long ago. We have been kissing butts for way too long and look where it got us.
        Time for kicking a$$es instead of kissing them……..

    • barbm

      kagan was o’s attorney when he fought the birther thang. not misspelled. :) if you go to the s.c. docket and type in kagan obama, it’ll bring it right up. i don’t understand how, in light of this info, she ever got confirmed.

      • Palin12

        Kagan needs a burqa. Along with pelosi, the Hildebeast, and especially Napolitano.

        • http://naver samurai

          I agree with you, but I’m affraid it won’t improve their looks any. FOR GOD AND COUNTRY!

        • Cawmun Cents

          Do they make soul burquas?Will the church do exorcisms on gubment Muslims?The kind of ugly these folks have can only be erased by fire from down below.

        • JC

          Wouldn’t that detract from Princess Hillary’s tiara? ;)

  • Warrior

    The longer this is stalled, the better the chance a conservative justice eventually will be replaced. Great strategy eh? I venture to say, if oblama makes it another four, it will happen.

    • Mick

      Warrior,,

      You got it, as usual a perfect manupulation praticed by the democrats for decades.
      The left has created a society of morons with the help of the educational system and mold them to be only capable of following the crap they feed them on daily basis, common sense has been taken out of the equation…..

      • bob wire

        It was the current Supreme Court that rendered this decision. ~ so just who are you attempting to lay blame to? The current administrating holds no sway to sitting judgeship’s.

        Things are progressing along in an understood, accepted and agreed order of events.

        • JC

          Yeah, progressing along for the Communists among us.
          You low lives are going to get some lessons in Americanism, and pretty damned quick at that!

        • Raggs

          ****The current administrating holds no sway to sitting judgeship’s.***

          bob wire.. That is totally FALSE!, You as with all regressives believe the people are just too stupid to figure this out.

        • JC

          bob wire says:
          April 26, 2011 at 8:44 am

          Things are progressing along in an understood, accepted and agreed order of events.
          _________________________________________________________________

          How about this below bob? Same idea?

          _________________________________________________________________

          The State Department is proposing a new “Biographical Questionnaire” for certain passport applicants. Exactly who, it’s not specifying.

          “The proposed new Form DS-5513,” writes Edward Hasbrouck at the Consumer Traveler blog, “asks for all addresses since birth; lifetime employment history including employers’ and supervisors names, addresses, and telephone numbers; personal details of all siblings; mother’s address one year prior to your birth; any ‘religious ceremony’ around the time of birth; and a variety of other information.”

          The Federal Register notice is here. The questionnaire was not posted in the Federal Register, but State did give it up on request to the Identity Project, which posted it here.

          Evidently, if you were born in the United States, your birth was “recorded within one year of the date your birth occurred” and you were “born in a medical facility,” you don’t have to answer the questions about where your mother lived a year before you were born, or what “religious ceremony” took place around the time of your birth.

          But everyone given this form would have to provide all previous addresses, all schools attended and all previous employers, including names of supervisors and telephone numbers. (What if you’re in your 50s now and you can’t remember who hired you as a soda jerk when you were 16? Or you can remember, but the business is long gone and the guy who hired you died in 1993? No passport for you?)

          “The State Department estimated,” writes Mr. Hasbrouck, “that the average respondent would be able to compile all this information in just 45 minutes, which is obviously absurd given the amount of research that is likely to be required to even attempt to complete the form.”

          And of course, everything you put on the form you do “under penalty of perjury.”

          • Michael J.

            JC,
            There’s a simple solution, just run for president and you’ll be exempted from proving any origin statistics, or simply hire attorney’s to conceal awkward truths.

          • bob wire

            Why attempt to change the subject JC? and with a fabricated birther issue no less!

            The Supreme moves at it own pace and just like “your” birther issue, if you receive “no never mind”, it’s for a good reason.

            That you don’t approve, ~it’s duly noted!

            I have some pet peeve issues myself and get much the same response that you seem to be getting. Nobody seems to care!

            I’ve learned to get over it, settle up and move on.

            The Supreme Court will not surpass a lower appellate courts ruling, They are the big league and offer “final” decisions. (more or less)

            Today, many states are found in default of Rowe vise Wade but proponents of this “LAW” fear the prospects of suing the states and soliciting the Supreme Court for a ruling on the matter because of it’s present
            “right leaning” and the possibilities of any repeal.

            So the present court “in no way” favors or panders to the current administration nor does the administration control scheduling, priories and matters of the court.

            I fail to see how that can be stated any clearer.

            Cool your JETS, they will get to it in their own sweet time.

            The way you people are acting ~ I’m beginning to wish we had attempted to indite 43 and his whole crew for war crimes. ~ There was clear evidence that the charge could be made but rather then go down that road and subject the whole nation to the distraction of business of dire importance, shear cost, not to mention the national embarrassment, it was decided best for the nation to “let it go”. And here you are today with your frigging tiny “birther” issue and trying to create something from nothing! You “act” as if you might have found a “smoking gun” while we dispose of BUSH’s canon (finger prints and all) and sent him to Crawford to chop cedar stumps for a while.

            That takes some very small people to attempt do such a thing. Your “motives” are overriding your sense of sound judgment and I’m truly glad you can’t run things. Just vote your vote like the rest of us.

          • JC

            bob wire says:
            April 26, 2011 at 4:54 pm
            Why attempt to change the subject JC? and with a fabricated birther issue no less!
            ____________________________________________

            You are SERIOUSLY twisted! That was no attempt at all to change the subjetc and has notbhing to do with your precious Kenyan diety.
            The passport questionnaire is REAL and it’s coming from THIS Administration…

            I just wondered if you thought it was ok too…being such a died in the wool low life communist and all.

            Have a nice heart attack for me would ya?
            I’m sure Obamacare is all you’ve dreamt it to be too commie boy. ;)

        • barbm

          bob wire said, “The current administrating holds no sway to sitting judgeship’s.”

          please see my above comment.

          • bob wire

            Hmm? circles inside circles and smoking guns, ain’t it fun?

            Things are rarely as they seem, it all depends on your understanding and level of play.

            And it cuts both ways barbm, I can tell, you are one to understand that more then most here.

            Thanks for the heads up.

            What a kwinkydink !

        • http://naver samurai

          Current administrations and political parties have always affected how judges decide on their cases. I guess Bob must be an ostrich with his head buried somewhere. FOR GOD AND COUNTRY!

  • Jeff in OH

    They have to wait to see who the next president will be before they decide.

    • JC

      Exactly. And that would be because the law is no longer about Justice or the Constitution. It is about politics and what they can get away with. It is completely and utterly perverse.

      • Robin from Arcadia, IN

        JC… I agree. It isn’t about justice or the Constitution, but politics.

        I thought not funding the bill would stop it. Is this no longer an option?

    • bob wire

      No! They are allowing a “lower court” to offer a ruling, all standard procedure.

      • Lastmanstanding

        BW. Just more stalling to eliminate our freedom

  • Lastmanstanding

    Think about this…when the dollar crashes and is worthless, all of these bills, etc. that are based in dollars WILL BE VOID, GONE,CAPUT!

    The only way the game can continue is by printing more money. (QE3.4, etc.) As more money is printed its value lessens with every single dollar. They want to continue the game until you are broke. Physically, mentally and financially. If you can’t figure out where that leaves you…

    No one wants the stuff (dollars) world wide. Who will buy the shit? The longer the game goes the better chance you will become a slave.

    I bet alot of you are laughing…just what they want. So that the elites can steal everything from you.

    • JC

      You’re right. It’s well under way. Brazil, India, China and Russia have all stopped trading in US Dollars. That would be because they are pretty much worthless now.

      • Lastmanstanding

        I hate carrying dollars around in my pocket anymore…the faith (or lack of)it gives me is damaging to everything about my soul. I take every op I have to exchange it and buy silver, food, ammo, etc. so that I am able to at least feel as though I will be able to defend and keep my kids and grandkids free.

        545 people control our fate…why are we letting this happen?

    • Raggs

      lastman… Your correct!… How many have seen in the past week obama blaming “big oil” for the rise in gas prices?… We all know it is obama and his bud ben beryankie printing money which desolves the value of the dollar, INFLATION through monetizing our debt.

      • barbm

        add not letting us drill in alaska to that.

  • Raggs

    Bet ya the supreme court is just stalling in order to find a lie to tell the american people why they see this illegal ( law ) constitutional… Not only that they don’t want this to be a thorn in obamas side will he is playing campaigner in cheif…

    • Lastmanstanding

      The longer the progressive game goes on,(right or left) the better it is for them. I hate to say it, but the longer the dollar survives, the worse it is for people that want to be free.

      The debt that has been created by the bankers, politicians and evil people in general will be destroyed. They must have us in debt with dollars to fulfill their plan. No dollars, no debt, a new start.

      It is called,” The fork in the road.” Take the road less traveled because it is the most difficult…and the most rewarding.

      The easy way out is in this case is slavery, poverty, oppression.
      History is the truth…it tells the story…time after time after time.

      The fight to retain our freedom and liberty is close at hand and will not be pretty.

  • TIME

    What did any of your really expect?

    I keep saying it there is no differance in political partys, nor is there any in the SC. Also keep in mind that the SC works on issues that their Clerks allow to go forward, Not public opinion.

    As a matter of fact the SC has no clue what the pubilc thinks nor in that case does the American public really have any idea what others think about whats going on. WHY?

    Can you say “Misinformation from the media 24/7 365 days” a year for well over 50 years now.

  • http://com i41

    The braindead bastards that voted for the jug eared marxist muslim moron and the dumbocraps, are who to blame for the smucks we get in the SC. This purple lipped puke in the WH was given a free pass be cause he was a bushman marxist/communist socialist who the soros media was in love with. Any one that thinks public opion is considered by the robed ones, need to wake up. The last 2 appointees sure are the result of feel good crap, and they use their life experiences a a guide, so if they are a bull dike or an affermative action slut, it isn’t law it is their twisted bs mental thinking to justify their options not the Constitution as a guide. The ugly witch Ginsburg berlerived there was no problem with prosition and 12 years olds getting married. The victomology b–l s–t SC since the 60′s all have the public opinion rolling around in the back of their skulls.

    • Robin from Arcadia, IN

      i41… Please don’t hold back; tell us how you really feel!
      I’m kidding. You are a little blunt, but most would agree with you, but with a little less gusto.

    • Gregg Jackson

      i41 – you are pathetic.

      • http://naver samurai

        With the exception of strong language, he has made his point clear and I agree with him. FOR GOD AND COUNTRY!

    • bob wire

      “This purple lipped puke in the WH was given a free pass be cause he was a bushman marxist/communist socialist who the soros media was in love with.”

      I suppose a more racist comment could be made i41 but it would require work.

      While I think that you are funny and openly telling the world you are a documented hater of people of color, I don’t think it did you any good in the long run.

      These remarks will be here for many years and available to anyone. I hope you don’t find yourself compromised and fighting for “your rights” & “freedom”in a court of laws as it’s clear you are predisposed to matters of race.

      The ambiguity of cyber space is only an illusion, you can be taken to account in a heartbeat.

      If you was as bright as you wish we seen you to be, ~ this should be a very real possibility and all so clear.

      • JC

        bob wire says:
        April 26, 2011 at 5:15 pm

        While I think that you are funny and openly telling the world you are a documented hater of people of color
        _________________________________________________________________

        People of color? Is this the 1960′s? What color Bob? People of “what” color? Do you mean Black? Are you talking about Black people?
        It’s ok to say Black people Bob…the Kenyan is only a “half” Black person though….his other color is White.

        I”ll apologize right now to any Black people who are offended by being called Black people and any White people who would prefer to be called Caucasian…or off White…or maybe slightly Beige…or Pale…or if you are in fact a combination of Orange with Green spots and come from a race of people who are generally Mauve with Chartreuse diagonal stipes…”People of Color” ;)

        • Cawmun Cents

          American Indo-Eurasian…..get it right next time…for gosh sakes!

        • Cawmun Cents

          Incidentally,Balack Omamba is gray.Black and white make gray.If you think about it…..the whole time he has been in office is one giant gray area.What are his real goals?To bring us all to the same level,so we can be gray like him.Just poorer than him.

      • http://naver samurai

        People may take you the same way if you weren’t so full of lib lies, rhetoric, inuendo, and just plain BS. FOR GOD AND COUNTRY!

    • http://deleted Claire

      Good grief.

  • barbm

    i41, again with the racist crap. can’t you make your point without doing that? it makes you look ignorant and all conservatives look racist when we are not. you give us all a bad rap.

    • libertytrain

      barbm – you are absolutely correct. I don’t understand why he does that either except to make us as a group look bad.

  • barbm

    rep not rap.

    • http://deleted Claire

      barbm–Very true words.

  • 45caliber

    They don’t want to delay the start of Oblamacare. They want us to pay the taxes, etc. on it as much as possible. So they delay any decisions to get it so far along that they can safely say, “we can’t stop it now!”

  • Raggs

    Has anyone seen that the SCREWBALL van jones ( former pocket monkey to obama ) wants to give earth human rights?..

    • JC

      Yep, Lunacy abounds…

      • Raggs

        Glad that your awake.. So tell me how the communist left will tell us this is a good idea ( threats inculded ) and force yet another UN uncostitutional treaty down our throats?

        • JC

          I hate to say it, but I’ve come to see the US Administration as one of the most Communist entities on the planet. The only way we get our nation back is to End the Fed and abrogate all involvement in the UN.
          As for them convincing us that it’s all for the greater good…that’s just crap and it’s not even worth talking about anymore. The battle lines need to be drawn. The talking is done.

          • Raggs

            Don’t forget the deep roots..

          • bob wire

            Yea, you and your friends have worked yourselves up into a pretty good lather over the course of several months. I believe that you have lost some objectivity along the way.

            It seems everyone is showing great profits but the middle class while there’s been steady decreases in unemployment.

            Seems you’d be happy your rich friends and “job creators” are doing so well.

            hey ! buy gold! buy a bunch of it! and when the bottom falls out , you’ll be wealthy too!

          • Raggs

            Your only sick because you do not have the mind to care for yourself.
            No amount of governemt can help you…

          • JC

            bob wire says:
            April 26, 2011 at 5:26 pm
            Yea, you and your friends have worked yourselves up into a pretty good lather over the course of several months. I believe that you have lost some objectivity along the way.
            _________________________________________________________

            Nope my object is still the same.
            To rid the world of communists and dictators.
            Maybe you’ve heard about it, it’s an age old American pursuit.

            So keep your head down commie boy. There is an inevitable “change” coming…don’t know where, don’t know when…but you can bet that your kind probably won’t fare all that well.

  • http://com i41

    bob wire, buying gold is just another bs waste of money. Its value will drop like a rock when the bootom falls out of everything,if you can buy gold, did not know welfare and SS checks were that big. Your idoit string puller Soros who is dumbocrap money man, is the mega hedge fund crook, that avoided the any impedements in getting special passes. The whole judicial system is a corrupt rule ducking organization from top to bottom. Another cross bred, Holder dodn’t abide by rules or up hold the laws. The marxist muslim moron sure isn’t following Constitutional law, which he wa s supposedly trtained in. If some smuck claims they are a “minority or a disadvantaged slub” they are given a pass on abiding the rules. Every segment of the legal orgainizations is loaded down with deals and special passes for minorities and officals.

Bottom
close[X]

Sign Up For Personal Liberty Digest™!

PL Badge

Welcome to PersonalLiberty.com,
America's #1 Source for Libertarian News!

To join our group of freedom-loving individuals and to get alerts as well as late-breaking conservative news from Personal Liberty Digest™...

Privacy PolicyYou can opt out at any time. We protect your information like a mother hen. We will not sell or rent your email address to anyone for any reason.