Pets Must Wear Seatbelts In New Jersey
June 11, 2012 by Bryan Nash
New Jersey lawmakers have determined that manâ€™s best friend needs to act more like a man and less like a dog. Any pet who is a passenger in a vehicle must be buckled up.
Drivers who fail to comply could be tagged with a $1,000 fine for each unrestrained animal. In the event of a wreck, owners can even be charged with animal cruelty and face jail time.
In the same State, people who do not wear a safety belt can be fined $46 dollars for the first offense.
“You wouldn’t put your child in the car unrestrained so you shouldn’t put your pet in the car unrestrained either,” said Frank Rizzo, superintendent of the New Jersey Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. “What people come to realize only too late is that animals act like flying missiles in an impact and can not only hurt themselves but hurt their human family members too.”
The rationale is that unrestrained pets distract drivers, leading to more accidents. Several harnesses are available for restraining pets.
According to the law, any animal must be restrained. In some States, it isÂ illegal for a pet to ride in the back of a truck or in the ownerâ€™s lap.