GOP Names Leaders For House Committees


GOP names leaders for House committeesA month after their resounding victory in the midterm elections, House Republicans have selected their committee chairs for the next congressional session.

According to media reports, Representative Fred Upton (R-Mich.) has been selected to lead the Energy and Commerce Committee over Joe Barton (R-Texas), who is the current ranking member of the group that handles healthcare legislation. Barton sought a return to his post despite sharp criticism he received from his own party this past summer, when he expressed sympathy for BP during a committee hearing on the Gulf Coast oil spill.

Hal Rogers (R-Ky.) has been pegged as the next Appropriations Committee chairman, and he will replace ranking member Jerry Lewis (R-Calif.). This committee is responsible for setting the levels of spending by the Federal government.

"I look forward to working with leadership and my Republican colleagues in fighting for serious reforms of the committee, bringing fiscal sanity back to our budgeting process, performing vigorous oversight of the failed job-creation policies of the Obama administration and moving our nation forward," Rogers said, quoted by FOX News.

Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.), who is backed by the Tea Party, was selected to serve on the Appropriations Committee. Flake is considered one of the most fiscally conservative Republicans in the House, according to He made a bid to lead the committee in 2008, but was turned down because GOP leaders were still supporting earmarks.

The House committee chairs were recommended by the Steering Committee, which is led by the incoming Speaker of the House John Boehner (R-Ohio).

Personal Liberty

Special To Personal Liberty

You Sound Off! is written by our readers and appears the last Wednesday of each month. If you would like to submit an article or letter to the editor for consideration for You Sound Off!, send it to by the Friday before the last Wednesday of the month. To be considered, a submission should be 750 words or less and must include the writer's name, address and a telephone number. Only the writer's name will be published. Anonymous submissions will not be considered.

Join the Discussion

Comment Policy: We encourage an open discussion with a wide range of viewpoints, even extreme ones, but we will not tolerate racism, profanity or slanderous comments toward the author(s) or comment participants. Make your case passionately, but civilly. Please don't stoop to name calling. We use filters for spam protection. If your comment does not appear, it is likely because it violates the above policy or contains links or language typical of spam. We reserve the right to remove comments at our discretion.